PDA

View Full Version : Solved Database backup file too big!

mario06
22-06-10, 08:23
I backup my forum once a weak through ssh, my backup was no bigger then 350mb and now it hit 1.2gb, I think this might be problem meaning I don't have problems backing it up but if I ever have to do a restore won't the server timeout with such a big backup??

steve
22-06-10, 11:00
I backup my forum once a weak through ssh, my backup was no bigger then 350mb and now it hit 1.2gb, I think this might be problem meaning I don't have problems backing it up but if I ever have to do a restore won't the server timeout with such a big backup??

I suggest you check these guys out Remote Backup using Rsync or FTP (http://www.bqbackup.com/) We have used them for a few years and currently backup about 1TB daily, it is very easy to set up. You can obviously go through some bandwidth, but that may or may not be a problem depending on your server plan.

I'm not an expert, someone else here no doubt has better advice. Its important to not rsync live databases, instead rsync your hotcopied backups ( google it ) (http://www.google.com.au/search?hl=en&q=mysqlhotcopy) or a SQL dump or your control panel backups.

Restoring is as simple as using rsync or SCP to move the backup back to your server (bqbackup give you shell access) and restore the database the appropriate way for your backup method. 1.2GB should be restored in a few minutes.

That said, a decent host should give you all the tools you need to manage every backup task.

mario06
22-06-10, 16:14
Thanks for responding but as I can see you have a big outfit so you can handle the assisted servers + extras on the other hand I have about 140k members 400k posts & etc so I consider it to be a small/medium forum.

I'm very handy in SSHing so the problem isn't there nor with my server (specs are good) none the less I see a "potential" problem in restoring it due to its humongous size (and growing) with server timeouts and so forth.